32 C

Chamari Athapaththu’s unbeaten run propels Sri Lanka to a straightforward victory over India Women.


Power hitter for Sri Lanka in women’s cricket In the Third T20I match against India Women on Monday (27) in Dambulla, Chamari Athapaththu blasted unbeaten innings of 80 to lead Sri Lanka to a comfortable seven-wicket victory.

Batting first, India Women scored 138/5 in their 20 overs, with Jemimah Rodrigues scoring 33 runs in the lead and 22 runs each from Smriti Mandhana and Sabbhineni Meghana.

For Sri Lanka Women, Sugandika Kumari, Ama Kanchana, Oshadi Ranasinghe, and Inoka Ranaweera each claimed a wicket.

running after 139 to win South Asia Women’s performance is slow to begin as they lose Vishmi Gunaratne early for five.

13 then fell Harshitha Samarawickrama.

Nilakshi de Silva and Captain Chamari Athapaththu, though, helped Sri Lanka surpass 100 before the latter was bowled for 30 runs.

In the 17th Over, captain Chamari Athapaththu scored four runs by edging a Radha Yadav delivery behind the wicket on the leg side.

For the first time ever, Sri Lanka Women defeated India in a T20I at home.

India Women, who won the first two games of the series, won the series 2-1.

Captain of Sri Lanka and Player of the Match Chamari Athapaththu.

India’s captain and Player of the Series, Harmanpreet Kaur.

Related articles

Recent articles