29 C

Sri Lanka women’s cricket team named for the series against India


Sri Lanka women’s cricket team named for the series against India with a the squad of 19 players for the Twenty20 and ODI series against the touring Indian women’s team in Sri Lanka. The tournament between the Sri Lanka women’s team and the Indian team led by Chamari Atapattu will begin on June 23.

Following the 2018 tour of Sri Lanka, the Indian team led by Harmanpreet Kaur has already arrived in Sri Lanka for three ODIs and three T20I matches. The Sri Lankan women’s team last participated in a bilateral tournament in Sri Lanka four years ago or in early 2019. Subsequently, the international schedule for each country affected by the Corvid 19 was temporarily canceled.

Four more players have been added to the squad for this year’s tournament than the 15-member Sri Lanka squad that recently toured Pakistan. At the same time, several new players have joined the team to replace the few who participated in the tour, while Vishmi Gunaratne, who is still a school-age athlete, has also joined the team.

Vishmi missed out on the last time Sri Lanka toured Pakistan due to appearing for the GCE Ordinary Level examination. In addition to Vishmi, the selection committee has taken steps to add all-rounder Rashmi de Silva of Ratnawali Balika Vidyalaya and Kaushani Nutyangana of Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda to the national team. Senior wicketkeeper Prasadini Weerakkody loses her place in the team when he joins Nutyangana as a wicketkeeper.

Meanwhile, Sachini Nisansala, who was on a tour of Pakistan, missed out on a place in the Imesha Dulani squad for the match against India due to a hamstring injury.

Sri Lanka Women’s Team –

  1. Chamari Atapattu (Captain)
  2. Hasini Perera
  3. Kaveesha Dilhari
  4. Nilakshi de Silva
  5. Anushka Sanjeewani
  6. Oshadi Ranasinghe
  7. Sugandika Kumari
  8. Inoka Ranaweera
  9. Achini Kulasuriya
  10. Harshita Samarawickrama
  11. Vishmi Gunaratne
  12. Malsha Shehani
  13. Ama Kanchana
  14. Udeshika Prabodhani
  15. Rashmi de Silva
  16. Hansima Karunaratne
  17. Kaushani Nutyangana
  18. Satya Sandeepani
  19. Tarika Sewwandi

Related articles

Recent articles