27.2 C

Australia tour of Sri Lanka 2022 – 2nd Test | Day 01


Australia won the toss and elected to bat first in the second Test match against Sri Lanka in Galle.

With a convincing 10-wicket win over the hosts in the first Test, the visitors made no changes to their line-up. They have now played four Test matches (Since Pakistan) without changing their XI.

Sri Lanka made four changes to their team after four players in the squad – Dhananjaya De Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay, Asitha Fernando, and Praveen Jayawickrama were tested positive for covid-19 in the leadup to the 2nd Test. Left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya was dropped after an underwhelming performance in the previous game.

Sri Lanka handed Test debuts to left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya, mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana and batting all-rounder Kamindu Mendis. Right arm seamer Kasun Rajitha came into the side as the lone seamer.

Related articles

Recent articles