28 C

Mahinda, Basil, and Attygalle promise to remain in the nation until tomorrow (15)


Former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, former Minister of Finance Basil Rajapaksa, and former Secretary of the Ministry of Finance S. R. Atygalle pledged today (14) to the Supreme Court that they will not travel abroad until tomorrow (15).

Today, when a petition for an investigation against those responsible for the current economic crisis was filed, attorneys for the aforementioned former officials made the aforementioned pledge.

Due to the absence of a lawyer representing the former CBSL Governor, who was also named as a respondent in the petition, the Supreme Court issued an order today prohibiting former Central Bank Governor W. D. Lakshman from traveling abroad until tomorrow.

This order was issued after the Supreme Court Justices Jayantha Jayasuriya, Bhuvaneka Aluvihare, Priyantha Jayawardena, Vijith Malalgoda, and L.T.B. Dehideniya considered the motion related to this petition.

This petition was submitted by Chandra Jayaratne, the former president of the Sri Lanka Chamber of Commerce, requesting an investigation into those responsible for the current economic crisis.

Related articles

Recent articles