29 C

Motion filed in Supreme Court urging to impose travel ban on MR, Basil, Cabraal and Atygalle


A motion has been filed in the Supreme Court seeking an interim order prohibiting former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, former Minister Basil Rajapaksa, former Central Bank Governors Ajith Nivard Cabraal, W.D. Lakshman, and former Secretary to the Ministry of Finance S.R. Atygalle from leaving the country without first obtaining permission from the Supreme Court.

This motion was filed in response to a Fundamental Rights petition filed by Julian Bolling, former Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Chandra Jayaratne, Transparency International, and Jehan Canaga Retna of Sri Lanka. The petitioners seek an order to take legal action against those responsible for financial irregularities and mismanagement of the Sri Lankan economy in this petition.

Petitioners have requested that this petition be set for July 14, through Attorney-at-law Upendra Gunasekera, because there is a grave urgency involved in the matter. On July 6, the Supreme Court scheduled this petition for hearing on July 27.

The petitioners maintained that they had been reliably informed that some of the above respondents may leave the country and thus avoid providing the information sought by the petitioners, preventing proper investigation.

As a result, the Supreme Court will hear this petition on Thursday (14) to support the interim relief Court.

The petitioners stated that irreparable loss, harm and prejudice would be caused to them and the citizens of Sri Lanka unless court the interim relief sought in the application is granted.

President’s Counsel Chandaka Jayasundere to be appeared on behalf of the petitioners.

Related articles

Recent articles