30 C

State of Emergency approved by Parliament


State of Emergency approved by Parliament. A majority of votes were cast in favor of the declaration approving the Emergency Regulations in Parliament.

Ranil Wickremesinghe, who was Acting President at the time, issued the proclamation, and a total of 120 MPs voted in favor and 63 MPs voted against it.

Government lawmakers supported the Emergency Laws, while Samagi Jana Balawegaya and other opposition parties opposed them.

A State of Emergency was declared island-wide through the publication of an Extraordinary Gazette notification, granting the Police and Security Forces the authority to detain and arrest persons at will.

In accordance with the law, the aforementioned proclamation will be revoked if Parliament approval is not received within 14 days.

Related articles

Recent articles