30 C

Four major cities picked under Govt development drive


Minister of Urban Development and Housing Prasanna Ranatunga stated that four major cities have been identified for the development of physical resources, as well as nine economic corridors connecting those cities.

The minister told that Colombo, Hambantota, Trincomalee, and Jaffna have been identified as the four major cities for physical resource development.

Colombo has been identified as the country’s main commercial and financial city, and the Urban Development Authority has already published a Gazette on the Colombo City Development Plan for the next eight years.

According to Minister Ranatunga, the Hambantota Mega City Development Plan has been prepared for the development of Hambantota city, and Trincomalee has been identified as a major commercial city under the Trincomalee development plan.

The minister stated that a development plan for the Jaffna Peninsula is currently being prepared, and that the government has also begun City Development Projects in Dambulla, Kandy, and Galle.

Related articles

Recent articles